Tuesday, December 13, 2011

Political Map of South America

South America is a continent in the Western Hemisphere, and mostly in the Southern Hemisphere (though part of it extends into the Northern Hemisphere as well). Geographically speaking, all of the Americas is one continent and South America is considered a subcontinent. But politically it is its own self-contained continent with characteristics that make it quite distinct from North America.

There are twelve countries in the continent, including (in alphabetical order) Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, and Venezuela. French Guiana is an additional territory there, which is under the sovereignty of France, and not an independent country. Panama is typically considered to be part of North America rather than South America, being situated in the Central America subregion of N.A.

The total area of South America is 17,840,000 square kilometers (and that means 6,890,000 square miles for all you Americans!). The population is more than 371 million.

One of the uniting features of most of the countries in the continent is the Spanish language, though the biggest country in South America, Brazil, does not use Spanish and uses Portugese instead.

Here you can find a political map of South America for your reference.

Atlas political map of South America
Basic politcal map of south america
printable political map south america
Simple political map of South America

Hopefully you had a chance to find a useful South America political map up above. Check out the other sections and categories for more cool stuff.

Share this Post Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email This Pin This Share on Google Plus Share on Tumblr

Tags: ,

0 Responses to “Political Map of South America”

© 2013 Free Printable Maps. All rights reserved.
Designed by SpicyTricks