Thursday, September 25, 2008

UK Map Showing Counties

UK map showing counties in constituent countries.

The United Kingdom consists of 4 constituent countries, which are not independent countries, but "countries-within-a-country", autonomous entities that share citizenship, a national parliament, and defense forces. Culturally they are often considered separate nations, for example in European sports leagues. British pounds are the currency used in the constituent countries, though each countries has its own coins and bills with their own countries' symbols and cultural heritage reflected.

Each UK constituent country is divided into counties (though sometimes not referred to as counties, they function at the county level). There are 82 counties in England. Scotland has 33 counties. The country of Wales has 23 counties. And Northern Ireland has just 6.

Here you can find and print out a UK map showing counties in each of the constituent countries of England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland. Some maps also show Ireland (not a part of the UK).

UK Map Showing counties in England, Wales, Scotland, and Northern Ireland (Ireland as well).

Map of UK Counties in England, Scotland, and Wales. Blank counties map with no labelling.

UK Map Showing Counties in England and Wales.

This Map of UK counties also shows Ireland.

Map of UK Counties in Great Britain, Northern Ireland, and in addition Ireland (which is not in the UK).

I hope that up above you could find a UK map showing counties that was useful for you. Be sure to check back again soon for more map collections. See you next time!

Share this Post Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email This Pin This Share on Google Plus Share on Tumblr

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “UK Map Showing Counties”

Barry said...
August 11, 2009 at 1:24 AM

I don't understand why the county of Gwent isn't shown?

The Paper Ostrich said...
August 14, 2009 at 6:36 AM

Gwent is an ancient name which formerly applied to the area known as Monmouthshire. It was revived at the time of the 1974 restructuring of Welsh local government, but for centuries the area had been known as Monmouthshire instead. Nowadays, it is back as a "preserved county" covering the reduced area incorrectly labelled on the bottom map as Monmouthshire.

© 2013 Free Printable Maps. All rights reserved.
Designed by SpicyTricks