Thursday, September 4, 2008

Physical Maps of Southeast Asia

Southeast Asia is a subregion of the Asian continent. The classification generally includes the countries south of China, east of India, and north of Australia. Specifically: Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

Southeast Asia consists of two main areas: the mainland connected to the Asian continent's main land mass (for example, Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos). And a maritime region of islands (for example, much of Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei, Philippines, Indonesia, and East Timor).

The largest city in Southeast Asia is Jakarta, with a population of 8,699,600 and a metropolitan area of more than 23 million people. Close behind is Manila, Philippines, and Bangkok, Thailand.

There`s a huge amount of cultural and linguistic variation in SE Asia, with the Vietnamese language being related to Chinese, and the Austronesian languages of Indonesia, Malaysia, and Philippines, to the Thai and Khmer languages. It really is a diverse region.

Here are a couple of physical maps of Southeast Asia for you. The first is the best one I could find online. The second lacks some detail, but clearly shows major rivers and mountain peaks.

Physical map of SE Asia countries

Elevation map of southeast asia

Relief physical map of Southeast Asia

Labelled relief map of SE Asia

I hope you found the maps above helpful. LIKE, SHARE, or TWEET if you found this page useful! That`s a big help to our website. Thanks! :)

Share this Post Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email This Pin This Share on Google Plus Share on Tumblr

Tags: , ,

0 Responses to “Physical Maps of Southeast Asia”

© 2013 Free Printable Maps. All rights reserved.
Designed by SpicyTricks