Sunday, September 7, 2008

Political Map Of Southeast Asia

Image Hosted by ImageShack.usThe Southeast Asia region is generally considered to consist of the following 11 countries: Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam. The island of Papua is geographically considered to be in Oceania, but part of the island belongs to Indonesia and is therefore politically considered part of Southeast Asia. Conversely, Christmas Island and the Cocos (Keeling) Islands are geographically located in Southeast Asia but since they belong to Australia, they are politically considered part of Oceania.

The two major areas of Southeast are 1) Mainland Southeast Asia (sometimes known as Indochina) where the dominant religion is Buddhism, with smaller Muslim and Christian
populations; and 2) Maritime Southeast Asia (also known as the Malay Archipelago), where the dominant religion is Islam, followed by Christianity (most notably in the Philippines). The people from the two sub-areas tend to look racially different, with the Mainland people having lighter skin and features comparable to Northeast Asians, while those in Maritime Southeast Asia tend to have darker skin and features more comparable to Polynesians. But there is some overlap, of course.

Here is a Southeast Asia region map showing all the countries in the area, and another political map of Southeast Asia showing country flags. I hope these are useful.

Southeast Asia region map, with both mainland and maritime Southeast Asia shown.

Excellent atlas Political map of Southeast Asia showing country flags in addition to borders etc.

I hope you found these political Southeast Asia region map downloads useful. Be sure to check back often for more map topics.

Share this Post Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email This Pin This Share on Google Plus Share on Tumblr

Tags: , ,

0 Responses to “Political Map Of Southeast Asia”

© 2013 Free Printable Maps. All rights reserved.
Designed by SpicyTricks